Akpabio, Oshiomhole Give Reasons For Joining Presidential Race

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan expected to join the race soon

Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio and the former National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole Wednesday joined the presidential race for the 2023 election. Both are running on the platform of the APC.

While Akpabio made his declaration before a mammoth crowd at Ikot Ekpene Stadium in Akwa Ibom State, Oshiomhole chose the Cyprain Ekwensi Cultural Centre in Abuja.

It was at the same venue Mr Akpabio announced his defection from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), to the ruling APC three years ago.

Mr Akpabio, a former two term governor of the Akwa Ibom State and immediate past Senate Minority Leader said he was declaring to restore hope to Nigerians. He also promised to place priority on security and economy if elected.

Mr Akpabio’s successor as governor, Udom Emmanuel, is also in the presidential race on PDP’s platform.

Godswill Akpabio

“Let me pronounce to you that you’ve had a lot of declarations, this one is uncommon. The message is not only a message of hope, not only a message of positive continuity; it is also a message that very soon the Egyptians you see today will see them no more.”

“Therefore, I hereby declare my intention to seek the nomination of my great party, the All Progressive Congress to become not just a candidate but to become the next president in 2023.”

While unveiling his ambition, Mr Oshiomhole said he would make Nigeria the smartest country in Africa.

Adams Oshiomhole

He said poverty, insecurity and unemployment are interrelated, saying one does not have to be a professor to know poverty, unemployment breeds insecurity.

He also said he will address the lingering Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) problem in order to maintain the academic calendar.

Mr Oshiomhole said his plan is to make Nigeria the ‘smartest’ country in Africa. “I want Nigeria to be described as the smartest country on the continent under my presidency,” he said.

The former President of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC), said his record as a labour leader will speak for him in his quest to he president of the country.

Senate President Ahmed Lawan

Currently, over 15 persons have declared interest to the battle for the ticket of the APC. They include the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo; former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu; Minister for Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Rochas Okorocha; Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, and others.

There are also four governors in the race, namely Ben Ayade of Cross River State, Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti and David Umahi of Ebonyi State.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, and Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa State are expected to join the race soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts