Kano APC Crisis: Why Shekarau’s Faction Rejected Power-Sharing Plan

Reasons have emerged why the Kano State All Progressives Congress (APC) faction led by Senator Ibrahim Shekarau has rejected the proposals of the party’s national secretariat towards resolving the lingering crisis in the state.

Senator Shekarau’s G-7 which has been at loggerheads with Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje’s leadership of the party in the state, does not accept the recently unveiled power sharing arrangement because “it is skewed in favour of Governor Ganduje’s faction of the party “.

Both factions have had deep-seated disagreements leading to two parallel executives in the state and ongoing court cases.

Senator Ibrahim Shekarau

The party’s national secretariat had however attempted to resolve the crisis administratively by meeting with both groups and thereafter issuing a template to address the issues raised by both stakeholders.

It had thereafter set up a National/State Joint Supervisory Committee” to implement the template with the committee to be headed by Governor Ganduje and assisted by Senator Shekarau.

But a few hours after the template was communicated to the groups, the G-7 has written to the national secretariat saying; “that the entirety of the content of your letter is totally unacceptable to us.”

They said their reason was that the letter did not acknowledge all the proposals tabled by both parties at the several reconciliation meetings.

Governor Ganduje

A leader of the G-7 who spoke to journalists in Abuja Tuesday said the faction would not accept the plan because “it is skewed in favour of Governor Ganduje’s faction of the party and it does not take into full cognizance our submissions during the peace meetings held last weekend”.

The position has put the national headquarters in a difficult position about bringing both parties to work together in Kano state, the party’s major stronghold.

The spokesman of Shekarau’s camp, Dr Sule Yau Sule, had disclosed last Sunday, that after the Saturday night meeting held with the two camps, the partys national headquarters would issue a power-sharing formula on Monday.

The meeting was organised by the APC Caretaker and Extraordinary National Convention Planning Committee led by its chairman, Governor Mai Mala Buni; Governor of Zamfara State, Bello Matawalle; and former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara.

He had sounded optimistic that the outcome would herald “a formula which would be all-inclusive, which means all of us will be part of the excos.”

In rejecting the formula therefore, the G-7 leaders said they were disenchanted that the letter had gone viral on social media before it got to them.

The signatories to the rejection letter include Senator Shekarau, Senator Barau Jibrin, House of Representative members, Tijjani Abdulkadir Jobe, Nasiru Abduwa Gabasawa, Haruna Dederi and Sha’aban Sharada, as well as the Chairman Buhari Support Group, Shehu Dalhatu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts