Osun APC Crisis Far from Over As Aregbesola ‘Boycotts’ Election

Rauf Aregbesola, minister of interior and former governor of Osun, did not vote at the state governorship election on Saturday.

Residents, who spoke to journalists in Ifofin, Ilesha area, where Aregbesola was expected to cast his vote, said it is “unlike the minister” who always arrives in his hometown on the eve of an election.

“By now, everywhere will be bubbling with activities because Aregbe would have entered since Friday,” a resident said.

Voting has since concluded at the minister’s polling unit at Isare ward 8, Ilesha east, with the All Progressives Congress (APC) winning with 164 votes, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) got 134.

Meanwhile, according to sources, the minister has travelled to Germany.

APC loss of Osun may upset Tinubu’s calculations

Aregbesola has been at loggerheads with Gboyega Oyetola, governor of Osun, who is seeking re-election on the platform of the APC.

The minister had backed Moshood Adeoti, a former secretary to the state government (SSG), for the APC governorship ticket but Oyetola won the primary.

Aregbesola had subsequently described the primary as a “sham of an election” after his preferred candidate lost.

The APC in Osun currently has two factions — one loyal to Aregbesola while the other supports Oyetola.

The minister was also not present during the APC mega rally in Osun on Tuesday, which was attended by Bola Tinubu, the party’s presidential candidate, as well as governors and other party stakeholders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts